Life Story Writing

Teaching Life Story Writing and Musings On My Life ~

Can I Tell You A Secret?!

So, you know you want to write but somehow you never find the time. Or maybe you just can’t seem to find the motivation, the momentum you need. New Year is around the corner and you have a resolution to write your story. Maybe this will get you started.

Can I tell you a secret? The solution to your dilema is simple. You need a writing buddy! See if you can find a friend or even an acquaintance who also wants to write. Meet once a week or how ever often is convenient. I found weekly meetings kept the momentum going. If you don’t live close enough to meet in person you can email, talk on the phone or even Skype or Facetime. When you first meet set a goal about what you will write about in the coming week, share ideas of your overall vision of your book, start talking to one another about your memories, keep a notebook handy to jot down any thoughts that come to you whilst you are talking, then go home and write. Each time you ‘meet’ share what you have written that week with one another. Help each other with positive feedback. Was the writing clear or were you confused by parts? Was there enough information to help you create a visual picture in your head or do you need more descriptive information? Did the story leave you hanging with questions you need to ask? Help your buddy see their writing from a reader’s perspective. Keep it positive, we are not Pulitzer prize winning writers, just ordinary folks trying to preserve and make sense of our life stories to share with others. Every time you meet set a new goal for the coming week. Having that goal and the impending meeting motivated me even if I left my writing till the last minute I had a deadline to meet. Help one another, encourage one another and have fun writing together and seeing your book grow. I have done this. Its a great way to make new friends and its something I looked forward to every week. Its great free entertainment and … It works!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Can I Tell You A Secret?!

  1. We stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might check
    things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

