Life Story Writing

Teaching Life Story Writing and Musings On My Life ~

Come Walk With Me On The River Trail …

Almost without fail, every day, usually around the hour of four in the afternoon you will find me walking on the river trail. I do this for many reasons. First I have to be outside for part of every day, I just feel better if I have some fresh air and get away from computers and the technology that binds me. Secondly, my body almost demands the movement, the exercise. And finally my mind and heart will ache for it. Walking frees my mind to think. The surroundings are peaceful and inspire me. I think it nurtures my soul to walk there every day.

It was whilst walking the other day a thought ran across my mind and I made a mental note to write about it here in my blog.

What was that revelation? Simply this…sometimes we want to sit and write but we don’t feel very creative. Sometimes we can’t seem to get in the right mood, to get the juices flowing. Sometimes we are definitely lacking inspiration. How about trying this…try reading poetry. Yup, that’s what I said, try reading poetry. Why not? Poets take words and infuse them with rhythm and voice and color and song. Get that lovely lyricism into your head and heart and use it as a springboard to bring your words and stories to life. Or try editing what you have written after reading some poetry or other works that inspire you. Personally, I love the language of days gone by such as those written by the fabulous Jane Austen:

“In vaiPride and Prejudicen have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” Mr Darcy ― Jane Austen, Pride And Prejudice

And of course the ever opinionated, strong-willed Elizabeth Bennett’s point of view ….
“From the very beginning— from the first moment, I may almost say— of my acquaintance with you, your manners, impressing me with the fullest belief of your arrogance, your conceit, and your selfish disdain of the feelings of others, were such as to form the groundwork of disapprobation on which succeeding events have built so immovable a dislike; and I had not known you a month before I felt that you were the last man in the world whom I could ever be prevailed on to marry.”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Golly gosh sakes, we just don’t use our words the same way anymore do we?! Haha…well it all tells a picture, a story, a time. I like to think I could take a little inspiration if not more from the beautiful written creations of others. As I look out on this winter landscape dressed in snow I think there is no better time for reading. So here’s to putting down the pen and picking up the book, whether it be poetry or literature and finding our sense of delight, wonder, inspiration and even awe at the power of the written word.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

