Life Story Writing

Teaching Life Story Writing and Musings On My Life ~

I Believe In Magic, I Believe In You And In Your Writing!

write
Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/followtheseinstructions/

I am not a child, yet I believe in magic. I believe that even if we don’t feel like writing, even if we think we have writers block, even if all seems to be against us, there is nothing that can stop us simply putting pen to paper and beginning. Even if the beginning is ‘…I don’t know what to write. I am so tired and can’t think. But what I really want to write about is the time my Dad taught me how to ride a bike. It was a cold spring morning. I was five years old. My bike was red, my favorite color…..’ And you keep going, working your way into your memories, letting what wants to be written come easily, not straining for words, writing child-like. Then you take that skeleton and you go back, reading it over. As you do other words pop into your head, other thoughts. You fit those in like jigsaw pieces making the picture become clearer. Now send yourself back to that time. What do you see, hear, smell, feel? As you take time to be calm about your writing, to ponder over time, the memories and words will come. And as you keep writing them, lovingly skimming them off the surface of your mind, others will rise to take their place, like a fountain rising up from the deep. I promise you it is simply a magical experience. Give yourself a gift this Christmas and believe in magic, in your writing and life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

